Been a long time…

It’s been a while since I updated this blog, mainly because I’ve been busy with life.  So yesterday a father of a DP/DR sufferer posted on Facebook’s Depersonalization support group that his son committed suicide, the news has severely impacted my overall mood and has stuck with me ever since.  It is just a sad and shocking story that I hope I won’t see another one of.  Please don’t let stories like this deter you from getting better, you can fight it and you can win it!  Science is great, you never know what the future holds, but you gotta stick around to see the future.  You only got one shot at life so suicide is never the answer!  Ever!

I know I can’t speak for everyone since we are all unique and we even experience DP/DR uniquely but down at the core we are biologically human beings, we are the same in a way.  I know for people suffering from DP/DR, it’s hard to rebuild their lives, it’s hard to carry on with their social lives and do what they love to do.  However these elements are crucial to recovery, normalcy and confidence.  It’s like trying to rebuild your life from scratch but this time 100 times harder.  But we are strong human beings, humans have accomplished many extraordinary feats like climbing the Everest and landing on the moon, everything is possible!  You’ve got nothing to lose!

Mood is extremely important in dealing with DP/DR.  If you find yourself constantly in low mood, I would suggest you talk to a doctor or find something to distract yourself.  If you’re financially capable, travelling is a great way of distracting yourself.  If you are fear of going outside, try to just step out the door and feel some fresh air.  Take baby steps and you will be on the top of Everest, it’s matter of time.

You might be wondering how I am doing after all these months? So I went to China for a month in February, visited many cities including the Great Wall of China. When I came back home to Toronto, I suffered a relapse but slowly got out after couple weeks and have been living/working ever since. I already know what my triggers are and I use distraction so I don’t fall into the hole. Life has been busy in general.

I’m holding the fort for all of you guys, just go and do your things to get better!

By the way, a tip for all of you guys, the world is real, yourselves are real, you are just being blocked of emotions.  Have no fear!

Leave a comment