Set a Goal: Now to new year.

I know many of sufferers are excessively browsing the Internet searching for answers and recovery stories, I ‘was’ one of them.  I understand it’s hard not to glue to Google but really they only provide temporary relief.

It’s wonderful time of the year, I know many of you probably can’t feel the atmosphere or feelings of holidays because you are dissociated but that doesn’t mean you can’t feel better.

Make yourself a goal, from today on to the New Year, get off the Internet temporarily and just enjoy the holidays with your family and friends.  If you’re alone, go out to the shopping mall or have walks in your neighborhood.  That’s what I did whenever I felt kind of disconnected, it does bring some normalacy back.

Just do something to distract yourself, whatever that may be.  Ski? Wonderful idea for this time of the year.  Or it can even be sitting at Starbucks for a day and just watch the people, bring a magazine along.  Just go out and do whatever you used to do.  I know how it might feel weird but the more you do this, the better you will be.  Tell your brain that you’re ready for life again, the fog can now be removed since you do not need it anymore.  Remember stress is a killer, by focusing and stressing out about your condition, you are inducing more stress on your brain which will make it worst.

Do it and report back… Trust me, even though you may not be able to feel the holiday time, you will feel better.

Cheers, happy new year in advance.  You guys will all be ok, true warriors!

Leave a comment